“To fresh woods, and pastures new.”

So this is WordPress, eh? It’s taken me long enough to get to this stage, but then people said that of me regarding social media several years ago. Time and tide, as they say.

Anyway, after graduating from University in July 2013, I have spent the last year applying for jobs (two if you count my final year of studies), attending interviews, receiving rejection emails and letters – or nothing at all – all the while indulging one of my hobbies, Ballroom and Latin dancing, and travelling around the country visiting friends. But the big breakthrough was that last November, I finally got around to completing NaNoWriMo – for years I’d flirted with it, having found way back in GCSE English Lit. that I could write a decent swashbuckling yarn, but somehow things seemed to get in the way. But not then. For most of November (I started writing two days in as I’d been in Reading) I wrote around making job applications, and then wrote some more, building the ideas I’d had for some time into a 50,000 word novel. It felt fantastic having sat down, roughly plotted an arc in my mind and written it. Over the last few months, as I continue ever on into the three-figure numbers of jobs applied for, I have been thinking more and more on last November. Yes, there was frustration when things didn’t quite work together, and for the record introducing new characters late on to make it work isn’t the brightest of ideas, but I genuinely loved the writing process and transporting myself to another place, spending time with rogues and adventurers and putting myself in their place. So much so that I’m doing it again, only this time on an idea that I would like to (eventually) see the light of day.

This is what I’m going to be blogging about, although occasionally there may well be some musings on my other interests, a great dish I’ve cooked, new steps in a dance I’ve learnt, a great book I’ve read or film I’ve seen… you get the idea. I hope that you’ll follow my journey on here, where I’ll share some of my processes, and, although I can’t promise it now I may well post snippets of prose in the future to see what you think.

Cheers,

 

P.S.

 

About Peter T. Smith

Peter T. Smith is a highly motivated politics graduate who has spent the past two years building experience in the book industry. With strong leadership, team and communicative skills developed through elected roles on student committees and coordinating campaigns, he is able to listen to and work well with a wide range of people in different situations and is always willing to learn from them. A voracious reader, he also has an unhealthy passion for tea, ballroom dancing, food and wine, and photography, fortunately not all at the same time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

